Get updates on our sporting facilities, sporting programmes and support to sporting organisations.


Find out about our programmes in the areas of youth development, empowerment, participation, volunteerism and capacity building.


Locate and book venues & facilities across the island.

Aqua Warriors Perform At Season Closing

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on LinkedIn

The Tobago YMCA Aqua Warriors competed at the recently concluded ASATT International Invitational Swimming Championships which was held over the last four days from the 11th – 14th December 2019 at the National Aquatic Centre in Balmain, Couva. The Championships hosted over 500 swimmers representing 31 swim clubs from across the Caribbean.

The contingent from Tobago comprising of national swimmers Ornella Walker, Rochelle Pierre, Jacob Cox and Mosi Denoon along with teammate John Procope completed the swim championships with 7 overall medals (3 Gold medals, 1 Silver medal and 1 Bronze Medal).

Ornella Walker claimed 5 medals at the swim championships. Walker swam to Gold in the 50-meter, 100-meter and 200-meter backstroke event clocking personal best times for all events, Silver in the 100-meter Freestyle event and a Bronze in the 50-meter freestyle event.

Jacob Cox raced to a Bronze medal in the 11-12 Boys 200-meter Breaststroke event clocking a personal best time of 3:01.12 behind Khadeem Brathwaite of Marlins Trinidad (3:00.39) and winner Elliot Gonsalves (2:49.20) of Dorado Swim Club Guyana.

Mosi Denoon also swam to a Bronze medal in the 200-meter Breaststroke event, adding to the overall medal haul, by clocking a season-best time of 2:36.63 behind Williams Reyes (2:34.00) of Tidal Wave Aquatics Trinidad and Tobago and winner Josiah Parag (2:32.97) of Blue Dolphin Swim Club Trinidad.

Honourable mention must be given to Jacob Cox who swam a qualifying time to be considered for the Carifta 2020 National Swim Team, Ornella Walker who swam qualifying times to be considered for the CCCAN 2020 National Swim Team.

Rochelle Pierre and Mosi Denoon both swam qualifying times and have been selected to be a part of the Pan American Masters 2020 National Swim Team which heads to Medellin, Colombia in June 2020.

The Tobago YMCA Aqua Warriors would like take this opportunity to give our most heartfelt thanks for the support and assistance that the Tobago House of Assembly, Division of Sport and Youth Affairs have continued to give our swimmers.

– End-

(L-R): Jacob Cox, John Procope, Rochelle Pierre, Mosi Denoon and Ornella Walker