Get updates on our sporting facilities, sporting programmes and support to sporting organisations.


Find out about our programmes in the areas of youth development, empowerment, participation, volunteerism and capacity building.


Locate and book venues & facilities across the island.

Aqua Warriors return with six medals and national record

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on LinkedIn

The Tobago YMCA Aqua Warriors competed at the recently concluded ASATT National Open Short Course Championships which were held over the last four days from November 7-10, 2019 at the National Aquatic Centre in Balmain, Couva. The team consisting of national swimmers Ornella Walker, Jacob Cox and Mosi Denoon under the tutelage of Assistance Coach Rochelle Pierre completed the swim championships with six overall medals (three Gold medals and three Silver medals), a 2nd place overall high point trophy and a new national record set by Ornella Walker.

Ornella Walker claimed gold in the 50-meter, 100-meter and 200-meter backstroke event clocking personal best times for all events and setting a new national record in the process. The 200-meter backstroke saw a new open national record as Tobago YMCA Aqua Warriors Ornella Walker surpassed the previous record (2:21.38) established in 2018 by Tidal Wave Aquatics, Jahmia Harley in a time of 2:19.47. Additionally, Walker claimed silver in the 50-meter freestyle and 100-meter freestyle event.

Mosi Denoon raced to a Silver medal in the 200-meter Breaststroke event, adding to the overall medal haul, by clocking a personal best time of 2:33.41 beating Point Fortin Aqua Darts Tee-Jay Sellier (2:48.63) and narrowly missing gold behind Kyle West of Marlins Swim Club (2:32.02). Honourable mention must be given to Jacob Cox who also competed in the 200-meter breaststroke and clocking a personal best time of 2:56.70 placing 6th overall. Jacob Cox now joins the rank as one of the few 11-year old swimmers who has qualified and placed in an A-Final at a National Open Short Course Championship event.

The team will return to four weeks of intense training as they prepare for the ASATT Invitational Swimming championships carded for December 11-14, 2019. The Invitational Swimming Championships serves as the first qualifier for all 2020 National Swim Teams. The Tobago YMCA Aqua Warriors also took this opportunity to express heartfelt thanks for the support and assistance that the Tobago House of Assembly – Division of Sport and Youth Affairs have continued to give our swimmers.



National swimmers and members of the Tobago Aqua Warriors: Ornella Walker, Mosi Denoon and Jacob Cox.