Get updates on our sporting facilities, sporting programmes and support to sporting organisations.


Find out about our programmes in the areas of youth development, empowerment, participation, volunteerism and capacity building.


Locate and book venues & facilities across the island.

Best of Tobago on display at National Youth Awards

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on LinkedIn

The Division of Sport and Youth Affairs wishes to recognise and celebrate the success of Tobago’s youth at the National Youth Awards 2019. Among our achievers is: Omari Cox (Agriculture 12-17), Shaquille Sylvester (Communication and Media), Treverra James (Education Award 12-17), Abeni Taylor (Entrepreneurship 18-29), Fanta Pierre-Sandy (Most Dedicated Youth Mentor 29+), the Charlotteville Police Youth Club (Most Improved Youth Group) and Xavier Edwards (Positive Youth Message Through Music).  

In 2018 nine Tobagonians won 9 of the 17 categories, 2019 saw seven categories. The Division will continue to celebrate youth contributions through the 2019 THA Youth Award schedule for October 31st at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort.

The Division also takes this time to congratulate netball stalwart Ms. Martha Archer on her recent National award for her contribution to sports in Trinidad and Tobago. Archer was presented with the Hummingbird Medal (Gold). She is this country’s longest-serving netball administrator, having served as president of the T&T Netball Association (TTNA) for 14 years (1991-2003, 2005-2007). She was the head of the Tobago Netball League (TNL) for 10 years (1999–2003, 2007–2013) and secretary/treasurer for 20 years (1978–1998).

Photos Courtesy: Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs.

Treverra James

Xavier Edwards receiving his award.

Shaquille Sylvester.

WPC Rheanne Moore accepting an award on behalf of the Charlotteville Police Youth Club.

Abeni Taylor receives her award from the Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Shamfa Cudjoe.

The Tobago winners at the recent National Youth Awards 2019 pose with Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs and the Secretary of Finance and the Economy, Tobago House of Assembly, Joel Jack.