Get updates on our sporting facilities, sporting programmes and support to sporting organisations.


Find out about our programmes in the areas of youth development, empowerment, participation, volunteerism and capacity building.


Locate and book venues & facilities across the island.

Raie-Ann cops the prize for Student Leadership Award

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on LinkedIn

The Division of Sport and Youth Affairs places great focus on awarding youth for their positive contributions in youth development.  As such, the Tobago Youth Awards 2019 featured the People’s Choice Student leadership Award that saw the recognition of student leaders representing each Secondary School across Tobago. During the span of the week, Programme Coordinator Julien Skeete in the Department of Youth Affairs presented the awards to the outstanding students.

Winning the award this year was the passionate Raie-Ann Beckles of the Scarborough Secondary School. In her expression of thanks, Beckles said, “I didn’t think I would win this award but I am happy that persons recognized my contributions”.  She continued, “I want to encourage other students to strive to become leaders and to live by our school’s motto, committed to excellence”. Raie-Ann is currently the Deputy Head Girl of Scarborough Secondary and is the president of the Student Council. In 2017, the youth leader excelled above her peers to receive the Lincoln Warner Award for her academic performance.

Programme Coordinator, Julien Skeete encouraged other students to excel beyond their expectations and validated the Division’s commitment to actively promote youth development. Students that received runner-up prizes for the Student leadership Award are as follows:

Amber Mayhew, of the Goodwood Secondary School, Bishop’s High School’s Alyssa Ross, De Andre St. Hillaire of Speyside High School, Jay-Anne John of Harmon School of SDA, Mitchila Williams, of the Signal Hill Secondary School and Deandra Quashie, of the Pentecostal Light and Life Foundation High School.