Get updates on our sporting facilities, sporting programmes and support to sporting organisations.


Find out about our programmes in the areas of youth development, empowerment, participation, volunteerism and capacity building.


Locate and book venues & facilities across the island.

DSYA congratulates newly elected Youth Assembly

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on LinkedIn

Twelve young persons are set to be agents of change in matters of governance and policy-making within the Tobago House of Assembly (THA). This is as a result of the recently held Tobago Youth Assembly (TYA) Election. Following a vigorous campaign, voters aged 12-29 selected their Youth Area Representatives.

The Scarborough/Calder Hall electoral district will be represented by current Public Relations Officer of the Trinidad and Tobago Youth Ambassadors – Tobago Region, Jahmone Madden. Tobago’s former Junior Secretary of Tourism, Kayleigh Lewis, will speak on behalf of youth in the area of Bacolet/Mt St George. The Youth Assemblymen will serve for a period of one year.

Assemblyman Jomo Pitt, Secretary of Sport and Youth Affairs offered these words of advice to the elected Assemblymen. “Firstly, provide a listening ear to all, be sympathetic and offer empathy to all. Most importantly, stand by your word. These three characteristics are what you will be judged by, not only during your term in office but throughout your life.”

Youth Development Director in the Department of Youth Affairs Ms. Anne Marie de Gazon thanked all the participants for their participation. “We are pleased to be involved in this project and to bring it to reality. Together we have crossed a historic milestone of having our Youth Assemblymen elected. The Division thanks all candidates for presenting themselves to be a part of this initiative.”

Following this election exercise, all Tobago Youth Assembly members will undergo continuous training and will participate in an inauguration ceremony on December 4th, 2020. Notably, candidates that were not successful at the polls will have an opportunity to serve within the Youth Assembly’s Secretariat. The Tobago Youth Assembly represents a partnership between the Division of Sport and Youth Affairs, the Tobago House of Assembly’s Legislature, and the Tobago Youth Council.

Full Results:

Tobago Youth Assembly 2020

 Bacolet/Mt. St. George – Kayleigh Lewis

Roxborough/Delaford – Janae Campbell

Bethel/ Mt. Irvine – Daniel Wilson

Black Rock/Whim/ Spring Garden- Nyashia Irvine

Buccoo/Mt. Pleasant – Alexandria Holder

Canaan/ Bon Accord – Jásher De Gannes

Goodwood/Belle Garden –  Tresha Scott

Lambeau/ Signal Hill – Niaomi Archie

Parlatuvier/ L’ Anse Fourmi/ Speyside – Adriel Wheeler

Plymouth/ Golden Lane – Ryan Campbell

Providence/Mason Hall/Moriah – Antoinette Lewis

Scarborough /Calder Hall – Jahmone Madden